Gang Starr Announces New Album “One Of The Best Yet”

Gang Starr One Of The Best Yet

Legendary Hip Hop group Gang Starr has been an institution in the genre for over 25 years. They have always stayed true to the essence of Hip Hop, which has helped them continue to be relevant all this time. The passing of Guru back in 2010 was tragic and obviously left the group without his substantive raps and signature monotone flow.

It was 2003 when they released their last album “The Ownerz”, and after 16 years DJ Premier had decided to put together a new album titled “One Of The Best Yet”. They released the track “Family and Loyalty”, featuring J. Cole, which apparently will be Cole’s last feature. There are a lot of top notch emcees that make appearances on the project including Q-Tip, Royce Da 5’9″, Talib Kweli, J. Cole and others.

“One Of The Best Yet” is set to drop November 1st. I am really excited for this album. Hearing Guru again with this roster of amazing artists and DJ Premier’s production is just what the doctor ordered.

Check out the tracklist and cover art below.

Gang Starr One Of The Best Yet
Gang Starr, One Of The Best Yet
  1. ‘The Sure Shot’ (Intro)

2. ‘Lights Out” feat. M.O.P.

3.  ‘Bad Name’

4.  ‘Hit Man’ feat. Q-Tip

5.  ‘What’s Real’ feat. Group Home & Royce Da 5’9”

6.  ‘Keith Casim Elam’ (Interlude)

7.  ‘From A Distance’ feat. Jeru The Damaja

8.  ‘Family and Loyalty” feat. J. Cole

9.  ‘Get Together’ feat. Ne-Yo & Nitty Scott

10.  ‘NYGz/GS 183rd’ (Interlude)

11.  ‘So Many Rappers’

12.  ‘Business Or Art’ feat. Talib Kweli

13.  ‘Bring It Back Here’

14.  ‘One Of The Best Yet’ (Big Shug Interlude)

15.  ‘Take Flight’ (Militia Pt. 4) feat. Big Shug & Freddie Foxxx

16.  ‘Bless The Mic’

***All Tracks Produced by DJ Premier

Leave a Reply